Allegiant by Veronica Roth Review

Leave a Comment

Title: Allegiant
Author: Veronica Roth
Release Date: October 22nd 2013 
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Source: Bought 
Rating: ★1/2


The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories. 

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love. 

Told from a riveting dual perspective, Allegiant, by #1 New York Times best-selling author Veronica Roth, brings the Divergent series to a powerful conclusion while revealing the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in Divergent and Insurgent.

My Review:

Allegiant is the final book in the Divergent trilogy and wraps up the story that we've been introduced in the first two books. After the "shocking" twist at the end of Insurgent, Tris and everyone around her must come to terms and discover the world outside of the factions.

This review won't contain spoilers for Allegiant but will contain spoilers for Divergent and Insurgent so if you haven't read either of these two books, unless you want to be spoiled, I suggest you read those and come back.

Allegiant as the finale, just like its predecessor, Insurgent, is to put it frankly, a mess. Divergent, while it's society and world set up didn't make much sense or have much logic to it, was a fun, entertaining novel. Insurgent took a turn for the worst with nothing happening in its 500+ pages until the very end. Allegiant had a chance to fix the mistakes of the previous two books.

The society that didn't make that much sense in Divergent was revealed as a social experiment at the end of Insurgent so it was easier to forgive the questionable dystopian set up of Chicago. Allegiant suffers the same problem as the second novel that not much happens until the end. The explanation of the world outside Chicago and why the experiment started in the first place was convoluted and seemed to be thrown together with half commentaries and themes that didn't connect or were not explained entirely.

A lot of the characters, especially the supporting cast, are one-dimensional and the main characters intentions and actions are easily explained away with the emotion that they are feeling at that moment.

This trilogy is disappointing and proves my suspicion that Roth had a pretty good idea and ran with it without planning everything out and didn't know all the details to her world and just added things as she went along hoping it would stick.

Check out my review for the previous two books in this series:

And on my goodreads, the novellas and companion novels that were released:

Next Post Newer Post Previous Post Older Post Home


Post a Comment